Day 8 (part I)

Today the sun was shining again when I awoke. I got ready to head out, and Ditte suggested I grab at least my umbrella -just in case!

 

Good call! This cloud followed me for a bit, spitting rain on me for believing I could handle the weather. But it was intermittent and short lived.

 

 

To escape the rain, I turned into a covered market. Outside there were fresh fruits and veggies, inside butchers, fishmongers, espresso bars, cheese counters. Spices, chocolates, cookware, vinegars you could blend, soaps, even stoves-but high end glossy magazine quality gas stoves to drool over ( won't fit in my bag-darn)!

 

 

I took the Metro line out to Østerbro station and after a short wrong way walk, I found my self along the outside of the moat around the Kastellet. The area around it is all park, with statues placed here and there,park benches and birds like this Grey Heron.

 

 

 

 

The main entrance to this park has a wonderful church and this amazing waterfall fountain! And a nice Italian tourist took my picture for me. The see the spouts of water on the left? Those are coming for serpents and below that in the waterfall area there are two men also spouting water. It is quite beautiful.

 

Wander along the outside of the moat and you will find a throng of people clambering around this statue. She is pretty famous. Ditte had told me she is very small, but she was about the size I expected ( I see what our statue in Vancouver is based on! – see below). She is very sweet and popular with the tourists. There are a lot of other great statues around that must be tired of being so completely ignored! I took lots of pictures of them too, unfortunately there isn't room on the blog for all of them.

 

The statue below is called “Girl in Wetsuit” and sits in Stanley Park, Vancouver.

I turned inland and entered the Kastelette thru it gates. The interior is all cobbled. This is one of Europes oldest and still working military installations. Barracks for army officers are maintained here as well as Administration offices. There is an old church here. Visitors are not permitted to bring cars in, but bikes and pedestrians are allowed. Walking on cobbled roads can be tiring to your feet and legs, and the are a lot of cobbled streets here! I walked thru the centre area and took a path up to the rampart walk the rounds along the top perimeter of the installation. You are rewarded with a great view of the ramparts and moat, and the park around it all, but mostly you can't help but notice this:

 

 

 

 

 

A fine windmill! Behind it you can see the top floors of the barracks down in the centre of the 5 point star shape of the fortress. Lots of joggers along the path, bikes are not allowed up here. Another great view of the moat and a nice peaceful walk with a few benches here and there.

I left the Kastellet and went to a museum called Frihedsmuseet – Museum of Danish Resistance. It is a wonderful exhibit showings many articles, pictures, sound clips of radio announcements of the day (in Danish of course) and items of everyday living during the difficult years of WW2. There is even a database of resistance fighters, and I believe I found my biological grandfather listed there!! Unfortunately it has little other information except that he was arrested. (Ditte, I am going to ask you if you can translate for me!)

 

I left and continued my exploring of the city

 

A turn around a corner brought me into this square, dominated by this immense statue. The square is called Amalienborg Palace. Fouralmost identical palaces sit in an eight sided plaza (cobbled of course). The statue is of Frederik V who had the complex built to house nobles in the 1750 s , bu when his palace burnt down in 1794, the Royal family moved here.

There are royal guards patrolling the area. Dressed in blue (blå in Danish and pronounced 'blow') with tall bushy hats (sometimes called busby 🙂 )The square and palaces are so accessible by the people! It is nice to see

There is a gorgeous park at the foot of the palace complex and situated on the water. Looking from the water to the palaces you can see the Marble Church in the background. The foundation stone was laid in 1749, however because of deaths and budget issues it was not fully completed and opened until 1894!

Interesting fact. Across the water was an old customs house. When it was built the king paid for the side that could be seen by him at his residence to be ornate and beautiful, the other side looks like a prison and is completely bare of any decorations. Why pay for something you can't see? 😀

I took so many pictres of Tivoli at night I will do a separate post later

 

Leave a Reply

